The titans of Marlins history, in one place

Friday, September 9, 2011

The Marlins announced plans to leave Sun Life Stadium with a bang, scheduling an on-field celebratory ceremony for their final home game on September 28. You better sit down before reading this list of attendees, it's a doozy:
Scheduled attendees include Kurt Abbott, Antonio Alfonseca, Moises Alou, Alex Arias, Bruce Aven, Rickey Bones, Bobby Bonilla, Kevin Brown, Luis Castillo, Greg Colbrunn, Jeff Conine, Reid Cornelius, Andre Dawson, Alex Fernandez, Cliff Floyd, Chris Hammond, Lenny Harris, Bryan Harvey, Livan Hernandez, Charlie Hough, Charles Johnson, Josh Johnson, Rene Lachemann, Al Leiter, Mike Lowell, Josias Manzanillo, Jack McKeon, Robb Nen, Vladimir Nunez, Tony Perez, Mike Piazza, Scott Pose, Hanley Ramirez, Pat Rapp, Ivan Rodriguez, Cookie Rojas, Benito Santiago, Gary Sheffield, Julian Tavarez, Tony Taylor, Michael Tejera and Preston Wilson.
Whoa whoa whoa, Greg Colbrunn, Scott Pose AND Pat Rapp, all in one place? What a get for the Marlins PR team!

In all seriousness, nice touch inviting Piazza, who is the embodiment of the team's spendthrift ways (involved in not one but two salary-dumping trades in the same week!).

And yes, Ted and I are thrilled that our old friend Antonio Alfonseca will be there. We're only disappointed that Jorge Julio and Kevin Gregg could not join him and complete the shaky reliever trifecta.

The team will open the 2012 season in its as-yet unnamed new ballpark on the former site of the Orange Bowl in Little Havana.


Post a Comment

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by 2009

Back to TOP